In order to attend any of our Category D1 courses, you must be at least 18 years of age and have a Category B licence (car licence).


Category D1 minibus training

PCV Category D1 (Minibus Licence)


The minbus PCV Category D1 test is for those people who would like to get their category D1 minibus licence, to be able to drive minibuses with up to 17 seats (including drivers seat) and derive an income from driving minbuses for hire and reward.


D1 Licence Exceptions


Drivers who passed their Category B (car licence) before 1st January 1997, will benefit from acquired rights (also referred to as grandfathering rights). This means that these group of drivers already have the D1 entitlement on their driving licence, however, there is a restriction code 101 attached to this entitlement which does not permit you to drive a minbus for hire and reward. Therefore, if you have the "101" restriction on your licence, then you can drive a minibus with up to 17 seats for private use, providing you are not doing it for hire and reward purposes (that is for profit). If you would like to drive a minibus for hire and reward (ie to earn money for it), then you must sit and pass the D1 minibus test.


***People who took their driving test after January 1997 will not have been granted the D1 licence, and will therefore have to take a separate D1 test to get the D1 minibus licence***





Mininbus Category D1 Requirements


In order to attend any of our Category D1 courses, you must be at least 17 years of age and have a Category B licence (car licence).


Assuming you already have a Category B driving licence, your first step is attend and pass a PCV medical test (unless you have already completed a medical for an LGV licence). You should be available to arrange for your local GP to conduct this medical, and they will confirm what fee is applicable. You will need to take a D4 Medical Form (download here) with you to your medical, and the doctor will complete the form accordingly.


Once you have passed your LGV Medical Examination, you must then make an application to the DVLA for your Category D1 provisional licence. In order to make this application, you will need to complete a D2 Application Form, which can be obtained from your local post office, or can be ordered online from the DVSA or we can provide you with one.







At this stage of applying for your Category D1 licence it is also worth applying for Category C (Lorry), Category C1 and Category D (PCV - Bus/Coach), as currently there is no fee for applying for these provisional entitlements, and should you decide to progress onto any of these tests in the future, it will save you from having to re-apply for the provisional entitlement, and avoid incurring any possible future fees.



The final step you must complete before attending our a D1 training course is to sit and pass your PCV theory test, which can be booked online at the DVSA's website, or by calling the DVSA booking line on 0300 200 1122. However if you're still not sure we can do this for you!


When booking your theory test you will need to book and pass both the PCV Multiple Choice (Module 1a) and PCV Hazard Perception (Module 1b) theory tests. It is also recommended that you book your LGV CPC Case Study (Module 2) at this stage, however it is not essential or required for you to pass this theory test before taking your practical training or LGV practical test.




The D1 Minibus Test


The PCV minbus test will be taken in the same vehicle in which you do your training in. The D1 minibus test starts off with the examiner asking you some vehicle safety questions, and is immeadiatly followed by the reversing excercise. You then proceed to spend the next 50 minutes - 1 hour driving on the public road, going over through the test routes you would have practiced during your training. During this time on the road the PCV examiner will assess your ability to interact with other road users along.


Once you have successfully passed your PCV Category D1 practical test, you will then obtain a Category D1 ( minibus licence) on your driving licence which will entitle you to drive any minibus up to 17 seats (including drivers seat) for private or hire and reward purposes.